top of page
Search
  • ninsynaet

Year one finished!

Updated: Sep 3, 2020

Hello to all friends! I am happy to tell you that .....


I have finished my first year at Rambert!

This is my year group just before lockdown!


This time last year, I was getting ready to leave Cambodia to come to England. I want to thank you all for praying, supporting and witnessing this journey with me. It's a miracle that none of my family and friends would have thought possible.


My dancing has improved so much this year. I have been able to study new styles of movement as well as work on improving my ballet technique. During lockdown I have been playing with creating movement videos. This has helped me to learn how to edit video and it has given me an opportunity to play with my own choreography. This will help a lot for my 2nd year. My biggest challenge this year has been writing and researching for the academic part of my training. I just recieved the result from my teachers. I passed everything and had good feedback. This is something I need to keep working on.

I can't believe that I've been away from the school and my friends for 4 months during lock down. I miss dancing in the studio so much. After school closed in March I finished the rest of the year doing my classes online by myself. The teachers, principle and school staff were so supportive and worked hard to keep us going. Before the Summer break, we had a zoom video call with everyone from school to say good bye, especially to the third year students. The third years made a video of all the fun, beautiful and hard times that they spent together. It was amazing to witness their friendships over the whole three years. It was sad to see them saying goodbye to each other either in person or over Zoom, since there are some that were in different countries or far away from London, but at the same time, I know that it's time for them to follow their dreams. After the video call, I realized that I only have two more years to train at Rambert and it made me want to really focus on learning as much as I can and on building relationships. This year it has hard for me to make friends because there were so many things that I needed to learn. I needed to understand more about myself and be ready to stop holding so much onto my connections in Cambodia, so that I could go out and make new friends.


During my summer break, I have been helping Rachel and her family move back into the house that they left 8 years ago. In the new house there is also a room for me and Rachel let me design it as if it's my room. It was fun to experience and help them move because this is something I have never done before. At my home in Cambodia (Gateway) we did move from the countryside to Phnom Penh, but because there are many children Taka and Christina made sure that the new house was all ready before we arrived. Here in England, I painted my room with colours that I chose and drew a picture of me dancing, on the wall.


After everything started to settle down in the new house, Rachel and her family have let me practice my cooking. I actually know to cook more than I was expecting. I guess you don't know till you give it a try. Here are some pictures of my achievments.


Beef Lok Lak and Fried Chicken with Pepper Sauce

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Becoming a teacher!

This year I have started my journey into becoming a dance teacher. Rambert school train dancers not teachers, so this has been something...

Comments


bottom of page