top of page
Search
  • ninsynaet

My first day of school...

Updated: Nov 16, 2019

On my first day at Rambert all of the students met together and introduced themselves to each other. It was really different to see the school full of students and teachers. This school is amazing. The teachers are friendly and they understand how hard it is for students because they were once a student too. They just want what’s best for us. Even though my classes are fun and amazing, it is challenging because of the new styles from different teachers.


All the students in my year at Rambert

On my third week I felt very homesick. I was crying and asking God why it was so hard and had doubts whether I should have stayed at home where I felt comfortable and safe. I wasn’t being a healthy Christian. I didn’t read the Bible or lean on to God. That week was not fun at all, it was full of disappointments. I felt insecure and alone. I wanted to have friends straight away but it was taking a long time. Part of my heart kept telling me that something was wrong and I needed to change. I was dancing for teachers and friends so they would like me instead of for God and myself.


When I was in Cambodia, I recorded one of the messages from my church, I listened to this when I felt homesick and it was perfect! It was about loneliness. Some of the points were:


- Jesus is the only one and only friend you can never ever lose.

- Loneliness is designed by God.

- Lonliness helps us understand the love of God. When you are lonely this hole can only be filled by God.


Then this question was like lightning to my heart, “ do you depend too much on a particular friend?” This was the perfect question for me because I was depending completely on making friends.


The message also talked about home and where it is. This is what I liked the most:


Home is a place where you can be yourself. You don’t have to pretend to be someone else. Jesus himself knows what it was like to not have home.


This made me realise that I will always be home where ever I go if I am myself and lean on God alone. And I’ll always have people to support me from back home and also all over the world. After this, I started to read my Bible and trust God and my week was amazing!! Something wonderful happened around me, friends and teachers were just completely different from the week before. I was enjoying and loving dance so much more than I ever had. I didn’t want to have a weekend off at all!!!


Here is a video of me having fun after class at my school.




45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Becoming a teacher!

This year I have started my journey into becoming a dance teacher. Rambert school train dancers not teachers, so this has been something...

Comments


bottom of page